This week a good friend of mine closed their facebook account. which meant I am unable to speak with them anymore – unless they get to TTitD that is. It got me thinking about things like friendship and the choices we make.

some time ago I decided not to keep calling “friends” that failed at least once in a while to call me, which unsuprisingly meant a lot of people fell of my “must call them” list pretty quickly. In fact i can say now that most of the people i chat with i do exclusively through that anti-social media Facebook, In fact I can with some certainty i spend most of my life in solitude so here are my thoughts on it.

If like me you think a lot when you are on your own you will reach different decisions than those you would in company – do i drink/eat/facebook/anything too much? the only real answer i can give is. You are only trying to please yourself so don’t worry about it. Or rather don’t do anything because it seems you aren’t living by societies rules. you are on your own, so you are your own society. For example on off my pleasures that i have carried over from when i lived with a late riser is to get up early on a sunday (5-6am) have a drink or a smoke or both watch TV or a film until about 8, then slightly drunk go back to bed for a couple of hours. Sure thats probably something society would frown on but i am not doing it to please society.

Every now and then you will feel down and nobody is around to make you feel better. I get this quite often and make decisions to do stuff or go out and see people or some such rubbish. sometimes i actually do it too. then i remember why i don’t see any people, because i don’t like them that much. thats why i spend a lot of time alone

now the other side is when you get used to being on your own, because people never call you is you never call them, right now i am overdue calling my mum, my son and daughter, one of the few friends i do actually speak too, emailing freinds in America or even chatting to them on facebook. instead i am writing this.

BRB. got some calls to make.

 

I think in it’s way that proved my point solitude is great and all, if you are comfortable with your own company. Don’t make it a habit though. keep the friends you do have, you kept them for a reason and perhaps you just aren’t trying to keep them anymore.

this has been a post dictated by my decision to post here once a week. not by any great thoughts or occurences in my life. don’t read to much into it. Or do it’s you life after all.